As we are almost half way through with the month of March, I find it high time that I get going with this month’s genre. I have been battling some depression the last couple of weeks which leads me to want to do nothing. But I am coming out of it, and am determined to continue with my blog to the end of my challenge.

March is history month, one that will be fun because I am a history teacher. I have no idea what time period I want to concentrate on or what type of story to write, but I am hoping that inspiration will strike me sometime shortly.

Historical fiction is one of my favorite genres to read and is characterized by the setting of the book, which is at least 30-50 years prior to the current year. The author’s goal is to bring a piece of history alive by either retelling a story such as in The Other Boleyn Girl or giving a snapshot of the era like The Pillers of the Earth. The characters can be historical figures, or they can be fictional ones dealing within an era’s restraints.

The novel I am choosing to read this month is Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. This choice may be a terrible mistake as I hear it is a series of quite a lot of books, I also hear rave reviews and that it has a tv show to boot! Alas, I have already started, so there is no turning back now.

I am in my last week of my first step bet, a competition to reach a set amount of steps per day and then you get money if you make it to the end. Walking has taken up quite a bit of my time, so I opted to get Outlander on tape, killing two birds with one stone people.

For the short stories, I have chosen “The Shawl” by Cynthia Ozick and “Foster” by Claire Keegan. Both of these are conveniently located on The New Yorker site and are quite short to allow with my absenteeism in this first section of the month. There will be reviews of both of these to follow as soon as possible.

And now I say farewell as I settle in to listen to Outlander while smelling the bread cooking in the oven. I have never made bread before, so I am hoping it comes out well. Bread making is an ancient art, and thus it fits well into history month. Read on.

 

 

 

 

