“Flowers for Algernon” is my new favorite short story of all time! I can’t believe that I didn’t read this in high school. But I am so glad that I got to now. If you have not read this story do the following: stop reading this mediocre blog review and read the real thing. Go!

This story is so profound on so many levels. It is an emotional and intellectual roller coaster. It follows a mentally disabled man who undergoes an operation that increases his intelligence. This story tries to explore, and in my opinion does a fantastic job, the question of what makes a good life. What is success? What is ethical in pursuit of science? What is progress? How can we learn to be happy with our faults? How can we learn not to settle and strive for greatness? This is all done in one short story which uses syntax in an unusual manner. I tend to become obsessed with good stories, and also depressed that I didn’t write them. But that is why I study, to become better. I am going to watch the film now! And apparently it has been expanded into a novel. So much to live for!

